Poetry, Politics, United States

The Dada Poetry of Donald Trump’s Debate Gibberish

Donald Trump speaks at his campaign event at the Central Wisconsin Convention and Expo Center in Rothschild, Wisconsin on April 2, 2016.

Donald Trump speaks at his campaign event at the Central Wisconsin Convention and Expo Center in Rothschild, Wisconsin on April 2, 2016.

Sunday night was a first in American politics, a presidential debate so tawdry and awful that the BBC correspondent reported hearing people were not allowing their children to watch. I myself avoided watching with family because it brought back memories of adolescence in a time of Lewinsky. But more lurid than anything in the Kenneth Starr report, largely because that document only contained information concerning consensual sexual activities between adults, was audio released Friday that showed Donald Trump bragging about sexual assault in degrading terms. “You grab them by the pussy, when you’re a big star, they let you do it,” Trump said. Confronted with the full horror of the situation his lifetime of misogyny had brought on him, Trump did what Trump does. He spouted Dada poetry comprised of word salad that when taken apart or put together mean absolutely nothing. Sometimes, they only reveal more vulgarity. In any case, Donald Trump’s “locker room talk even though I was mic’d up at work” non-apology must be seen as Dada poetry because the best thing you can do with trash is turn it into art:

Debate #2 Trump dada poems

DEALS

You say who’s making these deals?
We’re going the make great deals.
We’re going to have
a strong border. We’re going to bring
back law and order. Just today,
policemen was shot, two killed.
And
this is happening
on a weekly basis.
We have to bring back
respect to law enforcement.
At the same time, we have to take care
of people on all sides. We need justice.

LOCKER ROOM ISIS

No,
I didn’t say
that at all.

I don’t think
you understood
what was —
this was locker room talk.
I’m not proud of it.
I apologize
to my family.
I apologize
to the American people.
Certainly I’m not proud of it.
But this is locker room talk.

You know,
when we
have a world
where you have
ISIS
chopping off heads,
where you have — and,
frankly, drowning
people in steel cages,
where you have
wars
and horrible, horrible sights
all over,
where you have
so many bad things happening,
this is like medieval times.
We haven’t seen
anything like this,
the carnage all over the world.

ISIS LOCKER ROOM
(palindromic of “Locker Room ISIS”)

And they look
and
they see.

Can
you
imagine

the people that are,
frankly,
doing so well
against us
with ISIS?

And
they
look at our country

and
they see
what’s going on.

Yes,
I’m
very embarrassed
by it.

I hate it.

But it’s locker room talk,
and
it’s one of those things.

I will knock the hell
out of ISIS.

We’re going to defeat ISIS.

ISIS
happened a number of years ago
in a vacuum
that was left
because
of bad judgment.

And
I will tell you,
I will take care
of ISIS.

MUCH BIGGER THINGS

And we should
get on
to much more important things
and much bigger things.

RESPECT FOR WOMEN

I have
great
respect for women.
Nobody
has more
respect for women
than I do.

I’ve said things that,
frankly, you hear these things
I said.
And I was
embarrassed by it.
But
I have tremendous
respect for women.

INTO OUR COUNTRY, THEY’RE COMING

And
women
have respect for me.
And
I will tell you:
No, I have not.
And
I will tell you
that I’m going to make our country safe.

We’re going to have borders
in our country,
which we don’t have now.
People are pouring
into our country,
and they’re
coming
in
from the Middle East
and other places.

WE’RE GOING TO MAKE… AGAIN

We’re going
to make
America
safe again.

We’re going
to make
America
great again,

but

we’re going
to make
America
safe again.

And

we’re going
to make
America
wealthy again,

because

if you don’t

do that,
it just —

it sounds harsh to say,
but we
have to build
up
the wealth of our nation.