Awards, Columbia Journalism School, Columbia University, Dart Center for Journalism and Trauma, New York, Ochberg Fellowship, United States

Columbia Journalism School Dart Center for Journalism and Trauma 2014 Ochberg Fellowship

2014 Dart Center for Journalism and Trauma Ochberg Fellows

2014 Dart Center for Journalism and Trauma Ochberg Fellows

I have been named a 2014 Dart Center for Journalism and Trauma Ochberg Fellow along with some other pretty seriously accomplished journalists. It means, among other things, that I will be in New York for a week or so in January. It also means I will get advice and gain wisdom from some of the foremost experts on trauma as it impacts journalists. In the past, I attended two events co-sponsored by the Dart Center, a workshop on veterans at the Carter Center in Atlanta and a journalism and trauma workshop in Istanbul that I photographed as well. The Dart Center for Journalism and Trauma, along with the Rory Peck Trust, have proven to be the gold standard in resources for journalists covering traumatic issues. I am indebted to them and the work they do.