Azerbaijan, Baku-Tbilisi-Ceyhan Pipeline, Chicago, Energy, Fortnight Journal, Hungary, Illinois, New York, Newsletters, Politics, Publications, Turkey

holiday print sale / fortnight journal / upcoming travel

Another newsletter went out yesterday afternoon:

Greetings!

A short, personal note before I begin with the usual business. Thank you as always for your continued support of my work. It means a great amount to me these days as I have been struggling a lot to get my feet off the ground since moving to New York a few short months ago. The small gestures of support, kind words regarding my work, and print purchases have meant a great amount to me. Thank you.

I am holding an unprecedented holiday print sale in an effort to raise money for my upcoming trip to Hungary to cover the aftermath of the alumina industrial accident in the village of Ajka, which sent a flood of toxic red sludge pouring into the surrounding towns and countryside, marking the country’s worst ecological disaster.

For the awesomely low price of $75 each (or $50 for student), I am offering up 17 different prints to choose from as part of this sale. Of course, if you see something you like more, drop me a note at amanda.rivkin@gmail.com.

To order, please send an e-mail request to amanda.rivkin@gmail.com stating which print and where to send it to. As I am a registered PayPal merchant, you can now pay by credit card as you would with any other electronic invoice! The big advantage to ordering now is that your print will ship immediately after the Thanksgiving break, so please do not wait!

VIEW THE 17 PRINTS FOR $75 EACH

And thank you for your support!

As I also noted in my last e-mail, two fellow Sarah Lawrence alums, Samantha Hinds and Adam Whitney Nichols, have combined forces (we do that) to produce the awesome Fortnight Journal. For my second bi-weekly contribution I wrote about “The Moment” I photographed as Turkish Prime Minister Recep Erdogan threw a book from a campaign bus that landed squarely on my head.

Lastly, some brief upcoming travel notes.

I will be in Hungary from November 18-29 covering the aftermath of the industrial accident in Ajka.

After I return, I will be traveling to Chicago for much of the month (Dec. 10-30) in an effort to cover as much as I can of the Chicago special mayoral election. For editors familiar with my work covering Obama and Blagojevich, I hope this is an opportunity not just for me but for you to share work with your readers that reflects a scope of understanding of not just the story but the political environment. With the election date set for February 22, my goal is to be available for Chicago assignments in this time frame as well.

As always, thank you very much for your ongoing interest in my work.

Sincerely,

Amanda Rivkin